Saturday, February 2, 2013

2013 Pro Football Hall of Fame Announced

Six players and one head coach were picked for the 2013 hall of fame class. The selection committee   met on Saturday to discuss who made the cut. Jonathon Ogden was the Baltimore Raven's first ever draft pick. He was a bookend tackle that made six all-pro teams and the pro bowl team eleven out of his twelve seasons. Warren Sapp is second all-time in sacks for a defensive tackle with 96.5. Sapp was the 1999 defensive player of the year and helped anchor the Oakland Raiders and Tampa Bay Buccaneers defenses. Curley Culp is another defensive tackle making the hall of fame this year. He made the pro bowl six times in his career. Dave Robinson was a linebacker on Vince Lombardi's teams who amassed twenty-seven interceptions total. Cris Carter made the hall with over 10,000 receiving yards and 130 total touchdowns in his career. Larry Allen was a dominant offensive lineman on the San Francisco 49ers and Dallas Cowboys. Bill Parcells is the only non-player inducted this year. He is the first coach to bring four different teams to the playoffs in NFL history. This years class is quite exceptional;there will be many more talented players inducted in the upcoming years.

No comments:

Post a Comment